This page lists the free plans of 14 hosting, serverless and database platforms that indie developers often use. For each one we show the free allowance for compute, bandwidth and database storage, sleep and idle limits, whether commercial use is allowed and whether a card is required. Every figure comes from the vendor's own pricing, docs or terms pages, which are linked in each row. Fly.io and PlanetScale have no free tier for new accounts, and their rows say so. Figures were last checked on 22 October 2026. Free plans change often, so check the linked page before you decide.
Last checked
All figures are from the vendors' US English pricing and docs pages.
Published free plan allowances, from each vendor's own pages
Vendor
Product / plan
Compute free allowance
Bandwidth
Database / storage
Sleep, idle and other limits
Commercial use allowed
Card required
Source URL
Checked (22 Oct 2026)
Vercel
Hobby ($0/mo.)
Fluid Active CPU 4 hours / month; Fluid Provisioned Memory 360 GB-hrs / month; Function Invocations 1M / month
Fast Data Transfer 100 GB / month
No database in the plan table; Blob Storage Size 1 GB / month
Usage caps cannot be raised ("cannot purchase additional usage"); if you exceed a usage limit you wait until 30 days have passed before you can use the feature again
No ("You shall only use the Services under a Hobby plan for your personal or non-commercial use." https://vercel.com/legal/terms)
20 credits per GB, drawn from the same 300-credit monthly limit
Netlify Database (Postgres) included; storage size: not published
Hard monthly limits that cannot be exceeded; a site that reaches its monthly limits is paused until the next billing cycle, and if one project exceeds its limits all projects on the account are paused
100,000 requests/day (resets at midnight UTC); 10 ms CPU time per invocation; 128 MB memory
Workers Free egress limit: not published (the Workers Paid description says "There are no additional charges for data transfer (egress) or throughput (bandwidth).")
D1: 5 GB (total) storage, 5 million rows read/day, 100,000 rows written/day; Workers KV: 1 GB stored data
Free limits reset daily at 00:00 UTC; over the daily request limit Cloudflare returns Error 1027
not published
not published (terms require a credit card for Paid Services)
Free web service: 512 MB RAM; 750 Free instance hours per workspace per calendar month
5 GB of bandwidth included (Hobby workspace); if used up and no payment method is on file, all Free services are suspended for the rest of the month
Free Render Postgres: 1 GB fixed storage, 256 MB RAM; expires 30 days after creation (14-day grace period to upgrade, then deleted)
Free web services spin down after 15 minutes without inbound traffic; spin-up takes about one minute; ephemeral filesystem; docs say "Do not use them for production applications."
not published
not stated (docs say free services run when you "haven't added a payment method")
Trial: one-time $5 credit for up to 30 days, up to 2 vCPU / 1 GB RAM per service; then Free plan: $1 of free credit per month, up to 1 vCPU / 0.5 GB RAM per service
No free egress allowance stated; egress $0.05 per GB, paid from credit
0.5 GB of volume storage
Monthly credit does not roll over; Trial volumes deleted 30 days after the credits expire; unverified accounts (Limited Trial) have restricted outbound network access
not published (usage is metered as rows read and written; see database column)
not published; Monthly Syncs 3GB
100 databases; 5GB storage; 500 Million monthly rows read; 10 Million monthly rows written
Point-In-Time Restore 1 day; note: the pricing page shows a "Turso is joining Supabase" banner and the plan may change (checked 2026-10-22)
"You will only use the Services for your own internal business, personal, non-commercial use, and not on behalf of or for the benefit of any third party"
Idle apps shut down after ~20-30 seconds; note: Deno's blog post "Deno is joining Cloudflare" (dated October 9, 2026) says "Deno Deploy will continue operating for six months before shutting down." https://deno.com/blog/cloudflare (checked 2026-10-22)
not published (plan described as "For personal use and smaller projects")
Region: US. Figures are the published free-plan allowances on each vendor's own English (US) pricing and docs pages on 22 Oct 2026. Trials, startup credits and open source programs are not included unless the row says so.
"Not published" means the vendor's pages that were checked did not state the value. It does not mean "no limit", "allowed" or "not required".
"n/a (no free tier)" is used only for Fly.io and PlanetScale, whose own pages say there is no free tier for new accounts or organizations.
Commercial use: on 22 Oct 2026 each vendor's own terms of service, acceptable use and fair use pages were fetched and searched for a commercial-use rule. Two state one. Vercel's Terms of Service: "You shall only use the Services under a Hobby plan for your personal or non-commercial use." Turso's Terms of Use, which cover all its "Services" and do not name the free plan: "You will only use the Services for your own internal business, personal, non-commercial use, and not on behalf of or for the benefit of any third party". The other 12 vendors' pages state no commercial-use rule for the free plan, so their rows read "not published" (or "n/a (no free tier)" for Fly.io and PlanetScale). Render's docs say of Free instances: "Do not use them for production applications." Deno Deploy describes its Free plan as "For personal use and smaller projects". Neither is a stated commercial-use rule.
Card required: "No" is used only where the vendor states it ("No credit card required", "no credit card required", "No payment method needed"). Render does not state it. Its docs describe what happens to Free services when "you haven't added a payment method", so the row reads "not stated" with that quote.
Netlify's Free plan is credit-based: Netlify's credit table lists "300 credits/month" for the Free plan (https://docs.netlify.com/manage/accounts-and-billing/billing/billing-for-credit-based-plans/credit-based-pricing-plans/). The credits are shared by deploys, compute, bandwidth and web requests. Netlify does not publish a single GB or hour figure, so credits are not converted here.
Railway: new accounts start on a 30-day trial ($5 one-time credit). After that they move to the Free plan ($1 of free credit per month). The row shows both.
Fly.io: organizations on plans discontinued in October 2024 keep their old free allowances. The row covers new organizations only.
Cloudflare Pages and Workers share the Workers Free request quota (100,000 requests per day, resetting at midnight UTC).
Turso: the pricing page shows a "Turso is joining Supabase" banner and the plan may change (checked 2026-10-22). The row carries the same note.
Deno Deploy: Deno's blog post "Deno is joining Cloudflare" (9 Oct 2026) says "Deno Deploy will continue operating for six months before shutting down." (https://deno.com/blog/cloudflare). The row carries the same note.
Firebase: Cloud Functions and App Hosting are listed as "Not applicable" on the Spark plan. Their no-cost quotas apply only on the pay-as-you-go Blaze plan.
Methodology
Sources: only each vendor's own pricing, docs, terms of service, acceptable use and fair use pages. No third-party sites.
Region: US English pages and USD prices, standard self-serve free plans. Trials are shown only where they are the vendor's only free option (Fly.io) or lead into the free plan (Railway).
Figures are quoted as the vendor writes them. We did not convert, total or estimate any figure.
Where a value was not stated on the vendor's pages, the cell reads "not published". This does not mean "no limit", "allowed" or "not required".
"Yes" or "No" for commercial use and card required appears only where the vendor states it.
Vendors without a free tier are listed with "no free tier" instead of being removed.