Best Invoicing Software for Solo Founders (2026)

If your customers already pay you through Stripe, Stripe Invoicing is the fastest way to send a payable invoice, at 0.4% per paid invoice on Starter plus normal payment fees. If you want a $0 tool with reminders built in, Zoho Invoice and Invoice Ninja's free plans are the strongest. FreshBooks is the most complete for service work but caps Lite at 5 clients.

Editorial title card reading "Best Invoicing Software for Solo Founders (2026)" beside the orange ZeroRaised mark.

Key takeaways

  • Stripe Invoicing has no fixed fee: Starter is 0.4% and Plus 0.5% per paid invoice, with Stripe's normal payment pricing on top. Automatic reminders and Smart Retries are included on both.
  • Zoho Invoice is $0 with up to 500 invoices a year, two users, automated payment reminders, recurring invoices and a customer portal.
  • Invoice Ninja's free plan covers up to 5 clients with recurring invoices and gateways like Stripe and PayPal; Pro is $14/mo (or $140/yr) for unlimited clients and auto reminders.
  • FreshBooks lists Lite at $23/mo for 5 billable clients, with recurring invoices, late payment reminders and scheduled late fees on every plan.
  • Wave Starter is $0 with unlimited invoices; card payments cost 2.9% + $0.60 and bank payments 1% with a $1 minimum. QuickBooks' Free plan sends only 2 invoices a month unless you enable QuickBooks Payments.
On this page 22
  1. TL;DR
  2. What a solo founder actually needs from invoicing
  3. Comparison table
  4. The picks
  5. Stripe Invoicing: best if you already use Stripe
  6. Zoho Invoice: best free standalone tool
  7. Invoice Ninja: best for flexibility and gateways
  8. Wave: best free option for simple, unlimited invoices
  9. FreshBooks: best for service work and late fees
  10. QuickBooks Online: fine if your accountant already uses it
  11. Bonsai: best all-in-one for freelance-style billing
  12. Worked example: fees on a $1,000 invoice
  13. How to send your first invoice in 15 minutes
  14. Best for: our picks
  15. Frequently asked questions
  16. What is the best free invoicing software for a solo founder?
  17. Is Stripe Invoicing worth it for a SaaS founder?
  18. Which invoicing tools support late fees?
  19. Can I invoice international clients in their own currency?
  20. Do I need invoicing software if I sell through Paddle or Lemon Squeezy?
  21. Get paid, then get seen
  22. Sources

Short answer: If your product already takes payments through Stripe, use Stripe Invoicing: there is no monthly fee, Starter costs 0.4% per paid invoice, and reminders and retries are built in. If you want a free standalone tool, start with Zoho Invoice (500 invoices a year, reminders included) or Invoice Ninja (free for 5 clients). Pick FreshBooks if you bill for services and want late fees and reminders on autopilot.

Every price and limit below comes from the vendors' own pages, checked on 7 Nov 2026. The opinions in between are ours and are marked as such.

TL;DR#

  • Stripe Invoicing: Starter 0.4% and Plus 0.5% per paid invoice, "no fixed fees or setup costs", with Stripe Payments pricing on top (Stripe Invoicing pricing).
  • Zoho Invoice: $0, up to 500 invoices a year and two users, with automated payment reminders and recurring invoices (Zoho Invoice pricing).
  • Invoice Ninja: free for up to 5 clients; Pro is $14/mo or $140/yr for unlimited clients and auto reminders (Invoice Ninja pricing).
  • Wave: Starter $0 with unlimited invoices; cards 2.9% + $0.60, bank payments 1% ($1 minimum) (Wave pricing).
  • FreshBooks: Lite $23/mo for 5 clients, with scheduled late fees and reminders on every plan (FreshBooks pricing).
  • QuickBooks Online: the Free plan sends 2 invoices a month unless you enable QuickBooks Payments; paid plans start at $38/mo (QuickBooks pricing).
  • Bonsai: invoicing starts on Essentials at $25/mo, or $19/mo billed yearly, per user (Bonsai pricing).

Disclosure: ZeroRaised publishes this roundup and is a launch site for bootstrapped products. ZeroRaised has no commercial relationship with any vendor listed and earns nothing if you sign up. Facts come from the linked sources as checked on 7 Nov 2026.

What a solo founder actually needs from invoicing#

This post is about getting paid, not bookkeeping. If you need bank reconciliation, Stripe payout matching or deferred revenue, read our guide to the best accounting software for bootstrapped SaaS. Several tools overlap (Wave, QuickBooks, Zoho), but the questions here are different.

Our read: a one-person company needs five things from invoicing software.

  1. Fast first invoice. You should be able to sign up, add a customer and send a payable invoice in under fifteen minutes.
  2. A pay button. An invoice without an online payment link gets paid later. Card and bank transfer (ACH in the US) should both be options.
  3. Automatic reminders. You do not want to write the "just following up" email yourself. Late fees are a bonus.
  4. Recurring invoices. For retainers, annual contracts and monthly B2B plans billed outside a checkout.
  5. Multi-currency. If you sell to customers abroad, invoicing in their currency removes a reason to delay payment.

Comparison table#

ToolFree optionEntry paid priceRemindersRecurringLate fees on pricing pageOnline payment fees (as published)
Stripe InvoicingNo monthly fee0.4% per paid invoice (Starter)Yes, before, on or after due dateYes (via Stripe Billing)Not statedStripe Payments pricing for your country
Zoho Invoice$0, 500 invoices/yr, 2 usersFreeYesYesNot statedNot stated on pricing page
Invoice Ninja$0, up to 5 clientsPro $14/mo ($140/yr)Pro and upYes, all plansNot statedVia your gateway (Stripe, PayPal, Square, GoCardless and more)
WaveStarter $0, unlimited invoicesPro $19/mo ($190/yr)With online paymentsWith Pro or online paymentsNot statedCards 2.9% + $0.60; ACH 1%, $1 min
FreshBooksNoLite $23/mo (5 clients)Yes, all plansYes, all plansYes, all plansNot verified today
QuickBooks Online$0, 2 invoices/mo (unlimited with QuickBooks Payments)Simple Start $38/moYes, with QuickBooks PaymentsNot confirmed on pricing pageNot statedCards 2.99%; ACH 1%, $1 min
Bonsai7-day trialEssentials $25/mo ($19/mo yearly), per userNot statedSubscription and retainer invoicesNot statedVary by method; amounts not on pricing page

Sources are linked in each section below. "Not stated" means we did not find it on the vendor's pricing page today, not that the feature is missing.

The picks#

Stripe Invoicing: best if you already use Stripe#

Stripe Invoicing has two self-serve plans. Starter is "0.4%" and Plus is "0.5%", both "Per paid invoice", and Plus adds quotes. Stripe says it "has no fixed fees or setup costs, but Stripe Payments pricing will apply" (Stripe Invoicing pricing). You pay nothing until an invoice is paid.

What you get for that: Stripe emails your customer "a unique link to a Stripe-hosted invoice page", and automatic collection is included on both plans. In the dashboard you can turn on "Send reminders if a one-off invoice hasn't been paid", and "schedule reminders for before, on, or after the invoice due date." For card payments that fail, new accounts get Smart Retries by default, configured "for up to 8 retries within 2 weeks" (Stripe automatic collection docs). Stripe says you can "Invoice customers in 25+ languages, 135+ currencies" (Stripe Invoicing).

Payment fees are the part to check for your country. Stripe's pricing page served us UK rates today: "1.5% + 20p" for standard UK cards, "3.15% + 20p" for international cards, "+ 2% if currency conversion is required" (Stripe pricing). We could not load the US rates from this box, so check the page for your country before budgeting.

Payment Links vs invoices. Payment Links are "Included at no additional charge for businesses on standard payments pricing" (Stripe pricing). A payment link is a checkout page; an invoice is a dated document with a due date, a customer record, reminders and retries. Stripe's own comparison puts it the same way: Invoicing has "Automatic collection features, including Smart Retries and reminder emails" (Stripe Payment Links docs). The same pricing page also lists "Post-payment invoices" at 0.4% of the transaction total with a "US$2.00 cap per invoice", for when you want an invoice document after a customer has already paid.

Our read: for a SaaS, use Stripe Billing or your checkout for self-serve subscriptions, and Stripe Invoicing for the handful of customers who want an annual invoice, net-30 terms or a PO number on the document. Both live in the same customer records, so you do not have two systems. For the wider sell path (checkout, MoR vs Stripe, and getting paid online), see how to sell software online.

Zoho Invoice: best free standalone tool#

Zoho's US pricing page leads with "$0 for Seamless & Dependable Invoicing". The free plan lets you "Send up to 500 invoices per year", "Add up to two users" and create up to three projects, and it carries "Powered by Zoho Invoice" branding. It also lists "Automate payment reminders", "Send recurring invoices", "Provide a self-service customer portal" and "Offer multiple payment options to customers" (Zoho Invoice pricing). Through the portal, customers can view and pay invoices, approve quotes and download statements (Zoho Invoice).

The pricing page did not name specific payment gateways or mention multi-currency or late fees, so check those in the product before you commit.

Our read: 500 invoices a year is about 40 a month, plenty for a solo founder billing B2B clients. If you outgrow it or need full books, Zoho Books is the natural step up, and our accounting guide covers it.

Invoice Ninja: best for flexibility and gateways#

Invoice Ninja's Free plan is "Forever free" for "Up to 5" clients, with "Recurring & auto-billing", a client-side invoice portal and online payment gateways on every tier. Its FAQ says you can "Connect a payment gateway (Stripe, PayPal, Square, GoCardless, and many more)", and the free feature list includes "Automatic Currency Conversions" (Invoice Ninja pricing).

Ninja Pro is $14 a month, or "$140 billed annually (equivalent to $11.67/month)". It unlocks unlimited clients, removes Invoice Ninja branding and adds "Auto payment reminders" and "Auto Late-Payment Reminder Emails". Enterprise starts at $18 a month for 1-2 users. The pricing page also links to a self-hosting option and the project's GitHub repository.

Our read: because Invoice Ninja sits on top of your existing gateway, you keep Stripe or PayPal as the processor and avoid a second payments account. The 5-client limit makes the free plan a test drive for most founders, and Pro is one of the cheapest paid options here.

Wave: best free option for simple, unlimited invoices#

Wave Starter is $0 and lets you "Create unlimited estimates, invoices, bills, and bookkeeping records". Pro is $19/mo or $190/yr (Wave pricing). Automated late payment reminders are tied to online payments, and recurring billing is set up "with the Pro Plan or online payments" (Wave invoicing).

Wave's published payment fees are clear:

MethodStarterPro
Visa, Mastercard, Discover2.9% + $0.602.9% + $0 for the first 10 transactions a month, then Starter rates
Amex3.4% + $0.603.4% + $0 for the first 10 a month, then Starter rates
Bank payment (ACH/EFT)1%, $1 minimumSame

Wave says card payouts take "1-2 business days" and bank payments "1-7 business days", and approval for online payments "is subject to eligibility criteria, including identity verification and credit review" (Wave payments). Wave's pages did not mention multi-currency invoicing when we checked, and Wave prices in USD and CAD, so it suits North American founders best.

FreshBooks: best for service work and late fees#

FreshBooks lists Lite at $23/mo, Plus at $43/mo and Premium at $70/mo, and was showing "80% Off for 4 Months" when we checked. Lite lets you "Send invoices to 5 clients", Plus 50 and Premium unlimited. Every plan includes automated recurring invoices, automated late payment reminders and scheduled late fees, and Lite, Plus and Premium accept "credit and debit cards, ACH bank transfer, Apple Pay, Google Pay, and Buy Now, Pay Later". Extra team members are $11/mo each (FreshBooks pricing).

We could not verify FreshBooks' payment processing rates or multi-currency support on its pricing page today, so check them in the signup flow.

Our read: FreshBooks is the only tool here with late fees on its pricing page from the cheapest plan. If you sell consulting, setup or done-for-you work alongside a product, that alone can pay for Lite. The 5-client cap is tight, though.

QuickBooks Online: fine if your accountant already uses it#

QuickBooks' Free plan is $0 with no card needed, but you can "Send 2 invoices per month", or "unlimited invoices if you qualify for and enable QuickBooks Payments". Simple Start lists at $38/mo, Essentials $85, Plus $140 and Advanced $340, each showing "50% off for 3 months" when we checked (QuickBooks pricing).

QuickBooks Payments charges "2.99%" for invoiced card payments and "1%" with a "$1 min" for ACH bank payments, according to its rates page, which says rates are "accurate as of 09/18/2026" (QuickBooks payment rates).

Our read: QuickBooks is an accounting product that also sends invoices. Choose it for invoicing only if your bookkeeper insists on it.

Bonsai: best all-in-one for freelance-style billing#

Bonsai prices per user. Basic ($15/mo, or $9/mo billed yearly) has no invoicing. Essentials ($25/mo, or $19/mo yearly) and above include "Unlimited Invoices", "Online Payments", "Retainer Invoices", "Subscription Invoices", "Schedule Send" and "Multi-currency Billing". There is a 7-day free trial. Bonsai says processing fees "vary depending on the payment method used" but does not list amounts on the pricing page (Bonsai pricing).

Our read: Bonsai suits a founder who runs a services side business with proposals, contracts and time tracking. For a SaaS-only founder, it is more tool than you need.

Worked example: fees on a $1,000 invoice#

This is illustrative arithmetic from the published US rates above, not a quote. It covers payment fees only, not subscriptions.

Paid viaFeeYou receive
Wave Starter, card2.9% + $0.60 = $29.60$970.40
Wave Pro, card (within first 10 a month)2.9% = $29.00$971.00
Wave, bank payment1% = $10.00$990.00
QuickBooks Payments, card2.99% = $29.90$970.10
QuickBooks Payments, ACH1% = $10.00$990.00
Stripe Invoicing Starter0.4% = $4.00, plus Stripe Payments feesDepends on country and method

Our read: on larger B2B invoices, steering customers towards bank payment saves real money. Put the bank option first on the invoice and mention it in your terms.

How to send your first invoice in 15 minutes#

  1. Pick the tool by where your money already goes. On Stripe, use Stripe Invoicing. Otherwise, start with Zoho Invoice or Invoice Ninja free.
  2. Set up your business details once: legal name, address, tax ID if you have one, logo, and default payment terms such as net 14.
  3. Connect payments so the invoice has a pay button. Enable both card and bank transfer where offered.
  4. Turn on reminders before you send anything. Our suggested schedule: three days before the due date, on the day, and seven days after.
  5. Add the customer and line items, with a clear description, the period covered and a PO number if they gave you one.
  6. Send, then check the hosted invoice page from the customer's side to make sure the pay button works.

Tax and VAT, high level (not advice). Invoice requirements vary by country. In the UK and EU, VAT-registered businesses must show specific details on invoices, and selling software across borders can create sales tax or VAT obligations. If that sounds like more than you want to manage, a merchant of record handles tax on self-serve sales. Our Paddle vs Lemon Squeezy comparison covers the two most common choices. Ask an accountant about your situation.

Best for: our picks#

Your situationOur pick
SaaS on Stripe, a few customers want invoicesStripe Invoicing Starter
You want $0 with reminders includedZoho Invoice
You want to keep your existing Stripe or PayPal gatewayInvoice Ninja (Pro at $14/mo past 5 clients)
US or Canada, simple invoices, no monthly feeWave Starter
You sell services and want late fees automatedFreshBooks
Your accountant runs QuickBooksQuickBooks Online
Proposals, contracts and multi-currency invoices in one toolBonsai Essentials

Frequently asked questions#

What is the best free invoicing software for a solo founder?#

Zoho Invoice is the strongest $0 option on paper: up to 500 invoices a year, two users, automated payment reminders, recurring invoices and a customer portal, with Zoho branding on the free plan. Invoice Ninja is free for up to 5 clients and includes recurring invoices and online payment gateways, but auto reminders need Pro at $14/mo. Wave Starter is free with unlimited invoices if you mainly need simple invoices and online payments.

Is Stripe Invoicing worth it for a SaaS founder?#

If you already use Stripe, usually yes. There is no monthly fee: Starter charges 0.4% per paid invoice and Plus 0.5%, on top of Stripe's normal payment pricing. You get a hosted invoice page, automatic reminder emails you can schedule before, on or after the due date, and Smart Retries. It suits annual contracts and B2B customers who want an invoice instead of a checkout page.

Which invoicing tools support late fees?#

Of the tools we checked, FreshBooks lists scheduled late fees on every plan, from Lite at $23/mo. The other vendors' pricing pages did not mention late fees when we checked on 7 Nov 2026, so confirm in their help docs or product before relying on it. Automated payment reminders are more widely available: Stripe Invoicing, Zoho Invoice, FreshBooks, Invoice Ninja Pro and Wave (with online payments) all list them.

Can I invoice international clients in their own currency?#

Stripe says it can invoice customers in 135+ currencies and 25+ languages, and Bonsai lists multi-currency billing on Essentials ($25/mo, or $19/mo billed yearly) and above. Invoice Ninja lists automatic currency conversions. Currency conversion usually carries a fee on the payment side, for example Stripe's UK page adds 2% when conversion is required. Check the vendor's page for your country.

Do I need invoicing software if I sell through Paddle or Lemon Squeezy?#

For self-serve sales, usually not: a merchant of record sells to your customer and issues the receipts and tax invoices for you. You need separate invoicing software when a customer wants a custom invoice, a purchase order, bank transfer terms or an annual contract outside your checkout, or when you also sell services such as setup or consulting.

Get paid, then get seen#

ZeroRaised is a launch directory for products built without institutional VC. Once your invoices go out on time, submit your product for free and put it in front of people looking for bootstrapped tools. For more guides on running a company without investors, join the ZeroRaised newsletter.

Sources#

Frequently asked questions

What is the best free invoicing software for a solo founder?

Zoho Invoice is the strongest $0 option on paper: up to 500 invoices a year, two users, automated payment reminders, recurring invoices and a customer portal, with Zoho branding on the free plan. Invoice Ninja is free for up to 5 clients and includes recurring invoices and online payment gateways, but auto reminders need Pro at $14/mo. Wave Starter is free with unlimited invoices if you mainly need simple invoices and online payments.

Is Stripe Invoicing worth it for a SaaS founder?

If you already use Stripe, usually yes. There is no monthly fee: Starter charges 0.4% per paid invoice and Plus 0.5%, on top of Stripe's normal payment pricing. You get a hosted invoice page, automatic reminder emails you can schedule before, on or after the due date, and Smart Retries. It suits annual contracts and B2B customers who want an invoice instead of a checkout page.

Which invoicing tools support late fees?

Of the tools we checked, FreshBooks lists scheduled late fees on every plan, from Lite at $23/mo. The other vendors' pricing pages did not mention late fees when we checked on 7 Nov 2026, so confirm in their help docs or product before relying on it. Automated payment reminders are more widely available: Stripe Invoicing, Zoho Invoice, FreshBooks, Invoice Ninja Pro and Wave (with online payments) all list them.

Can I invoice international clients in their own currency?

Stripe says it can invoice customers in 135+ currencies and 25+ languages, and Bonsai lists multi-currency billing on Essentials ($25/mo, or $19/mo billed yearly) and above. Invoice Ninja lists automatic currency conversions. Currency conversion usually carries a fee on the payment side, for example Stripe's UK page adds 2% when conversion is required. Check the vendor's page for your country.

Do I need invoicing software if I sell through Paddle or Lemon Squeezy?

For self-serve sales, usually not: a merchant of record sells to your customer and issues the receipts and tax invoices for you. You need separate invoicing software when a customer wants a custom invoice, a purchase order, bank transfer terms or an annual contract outside your checkout, or when you also sell services such as setup or consulting.