Open dataset

Free object and file storage tiers compared

This page lists the free tiers and trials of 10 object and file storage services that indie developers often use. For each one we show the free storage, egress or bandwidth, operation or request limits, file size limits, the overage or paid price, whether the offer is a trial only and whether a card is needed. Every figure comes from the vendor's own pricing or docs pages, which are linked in each row. Vendors measure usage in different units, so the table keeps each vendor's own wording. Figures were last checked on 23 October 2026.

Last checked

All figures are from the vendors' US English pricing and docs pages.

Published free tier and trial terms for object and file storage services, from each vendor's own pages
VendorFree storageEgress / bandwidthOperations / requests limitsFile size limitsOverage priceTrial only?Card requiredNotesSource URLsChecked (23 Oct 2026)
Cloudflare R2"10 GB-month / month" (Standard storage only)"Egress (data transfer to Internet) Free"Class A: "1 million requests / month"; Class B: "10 million requests / month""Object size 5 TiB per object" ("so 4.995 TiB"); upload: "5 GiB (single-part) / 4.995 TiB (multi-part)"Standard storage "$0.015 / GB-month"; Class A "$4.50 / million requests"; Class B "$0.36 / million requests"No: free usage "each month for free"not stated; setup needs "an R2 subscription" through "the checkout flow""The free tier only applies to Standard storage, and does not apply to Infrequent Access storage." "R2 is free to get started with included free monthly usage."
Backblaze B2"First 10GB storage is always free.""free egress up to 3x their average monthly storage"; free through "many CDN and compute partners""Class A, B, and C API calls are free for pay-as-you-go customers." Class D: "the first 2,500 calls per day are free""the 5 GB limit on normal files"; "Large files can range in size from 5 MB to 10 TB.""Starts at $ 6.95 / TB / mo"; Class D "$0.004 per 10,000 calls"; egress above 3x "$0.01 per GB"No: first 10GB "always free"not stated (billing "Method Credit card or invoice")"No minimum file size fees"; "No minimum storage duration fees". The cost chart shows "published rates for the U.S. West region."
Supabase Storage"1 GB file storage""5 GB egress"; "5 GB cached egress"not stated for Storage operations; the Free plan lists "Unlimited API requests""Max file upload size 50 MB"; "For Free projects, the limit can't exceed 50 MB."not stated for Free; Pro: "100 GB file storage then $0.0213 per GB", "250 GB egress then $0.09 per GB"No: "Free" "$ 0 / month"not stated"Free projects are paused after 1 week of inactivity. Limit of 2 active projects." "Image Transformations Not included in free". Storage limits are part of the Supabase Free plan.
Vercel BlobHobby: "Blob Storage Size 1GB/month""Blob Data Transfer First 10 GB"Simple Operations "First 10,000"; Advanced Operations "First 2,000"; rate limits "Hobby 1,200/min (20/s) 900/min (15/s)""Maximum File Size : 5TB (5,000GB)"Hobby: "You will not pay for any additional usage"; Pro on-demand: "$0.023 per GB" storage, "$0.400 per 1M" simple and "$5.000 per 1M" advanced operations, "$0.050 per GB" data transferNo: "Vercel Blob is free for Hobby users within the usage limits"not statedOver a Hobby limit "you will not be able to access Vercel Blob if limits are exceeded" until "30 days have passed". "The included resource usage for the Hobby plan is shared across all Vercel services in your project." "Hobby teams are restricted to non-commercial personal use only."
UploadThing"2GB of storage" ("Storage shared between all apps")"Unlimited uploads and downloads"not statednot stated per plan; route option maxFileSize "Default: 4MB" ("The default max file size depends on the file type.")not stated for the free app; next plan "$10 /month" ("100GB App"); usage-based plan "$0.08 per GB over 250GB"No: "2GB App" "$0 /month"not statedFree app includes "7 days of audit log retention". The site shows a "BETA" label.
Firebase (Cloud Storage for Firebase)Blaze plan only: "No-cost up to 5 GB-months"GB downloaded: "No-cost up to 100 GB/month"Upload operations "No-cost up to 5K/month"; download operations "No-cost up to 50K/month"not stated"Then Cloud Storage pricing" (rates not listed on the Firebase page)No trial; a no-cost quota on Blaze only: "No-cost usage is still available even on the Blaze pricing plan."not stated; Storage "now requires projects to be on the pay-as-you-go Blaze pricing plan"On the no-cost Spark plan "you won't have access to any Cloud Storage buckets (including default buckets)". "No-cost quotas are only available for buckets in the following regions: us-central1 , us-west1 , us-east1 ." Figures are for *.firebasestorage.app buckets; legacy *.appspot.com buckets have different no-cost limits on the same page.
AWS S3 (AWS Free Tier)not stated as a GB amount; "up to $200 in AWS Free Tier credits" usable on S3"100GB of data transfer out to the internet free each month, aggregated across all AWS Services and Regions"not stated"maximum of 50 TB" per object; "The largest object that can be uploaded in a single PUT is 5 GB."not stated (the fetched S3 pricing page fills prices in by script)Trial only: credit-based Free plan, "available for 6 months after account creation"Usually no: "A payment method isn't required to sign up for most new customers.""The account closes on its own 6 months after you open it or when your credits run out, whichever comes first." "All Free Tier credits must be used within 12 months of your account creation date."
Bunny Storagenot stated (trial allowance not listed)"Free traffic to Bunny CDN"; "Free API egress""No API fees"not statedStandard "$0.01/GB per storage region for up to two regions. $0.005/GB per additional region."; Edge "$0.02/GB per each storage region."; "$1 monthly minimum"Trial only: "Start your 14-day FREE trial"No: "No credit card required.""Enjoy FREE egress for managing your data and only pay for public distribution."
WasabiTrial: "100 GB for 30 days" (company email domain) or "10 GB for 14 days" (freemail)"No fees for egress or API requests""No fees for egress or API requests"not stated"Starting at $7.99 TB/month"; "Minimum monthly charge Yes, tied to 1 TB active storage per account"; "Minimum storage duration 90 days" (Pay as You Go)Trial only: "Start a Free Trial"No: "No credit card required to get started""No auto-charge when your trial ends". "Pricing basis Per-GB/day, billed for actual usage".
Tigris"5 GB data storage per month, standard tier""Egress Free"; "Zero egress fees.""10,000 PUT, COPY, POST and LIST requests per month"; "100,000 GET, SELECT and all other requests per month"not statedStandard "$0.02/GB/month"; Class A "$0.005/1000 requests"; Class B "$0.0005/1000 requests"No: "Free tier Every month, on every account"No: "No card to start.""The allowance below resets monthly and applies before anything is metered." "Tigris pricing is the same across all geographies."

Notes

  • Region: US English pages, USD prices. Figures are the published free-tier or trial terms on each vendor's own pricing and docs pages on 23 Oct 2026.
  • "not stated" means the vendor's pages that were checked did not state the value. It does not mean "included", "not included", "free" or "unlimited".
  • Trial only: AWS S3 (credit-based Free plan; "The account closes on its own 6 months after you open it or when your credits run out, whichever comes first."), Bunny Storage ("Start your 14-day FREE trial") and Wasabi ("100 GB for 30 days" or "10 GB for 14 days"). They are listed and labelled, not dropped, because each publishes a trial.
  • Firebase: Cloud Storage for Firebase is not available on the no-cost Spark plan. Its no-cost quota applies only on Blaze ("No-cost usage is still available even on the Blaze pricing plan."), so it is listed with that label rather than swapped out.
  • Units are kept as each vendor writes them and are not converted: GB-month (Cloudflare R2, Firebase), GB per month (Vercel Blob, Tigris), TB per month (Backblaze B2, Wasabi), TiB and TB file limits. Request classes also differ (Class A/B, Class A/B/C/D, Simple/Advanced, upload/download operations).
  • Egress terms differ in kind: free egress (Cloudflare R2, Tigris), free up to a multiple of stored data (Backblaze B2), a free monthly allowance (Supabase Storage, Vercel Blob, Firebase, AWS), and "No fees for egress or API requests" (Wasabi). Each cell quotes the vendor.
  • No candidate was swapped out: all ten publish a free tier, a no-cost quota or a trial on 23 Oct 2026.

Methodology

  • Sources: only each vendor's own pricing and docs pages. No third-party sites.
  • Region: US English pages and USD prices, standard self-serve free tiers and trials.
  • Figures are quoted as the vendor writes them, including the vendor's own unit (GB-month, GB, TB, TiB, Class A/B requests, operations). We did not convert, total or estimate any figure.
  • Vendors that offer only a trial are listed and labelled "Trial only" with the trial length.
  • Where a value was not stated on the vendor's pages, the cell reads "not stated". This does not mean "included", "not included", "free" or "unlimited".
  • Last checked: 23 October 2026.

License

This dataset is licensed under CC BY 4.0. You may share and adapt it, including commercially, if you credit ZeroRaised and link to https://zeroraised.com/data/storage-tiers.

Download the dataset (CSV)

Free Object and File Storage Tiers Compared | ZeroRaised