Lemon Squeezy Alternatives (2026): 9 Checkout Options Compared
Lemon Squeezy now belongs to Stripe, and Stripe is steering its users towards Stripe Managed Payments. Here is what each alternative actually charges and who becomes the legal seller, checked against primary sources on 1 Nov 2026.

Key takeaways
- Lemon Squeezy still charges 5% + 50¢ per transaction, and its January 2026 update says the goal is to give users an easy way to migrate to Stripe Managed Payments.
- Stripe Managed Payments adds 3.5% to standard Stripe processing fees, with Stripe (via Onelink) as merchant of record, subject to an eligibility review.
- Creem (3.9% + 40¢) and Dodo Payments (4% + 40¢ for domestic US cards) publish lower headline rates than Paddle's 5% + 50¢, but their surcharges and payout fees differ.
- Paddle Billing has no built-in licence keys; Polar, Creem, Dodo Payments, FastSpring, Gumroad, Payhip and Whop all document licence key support.
- Payhip and Whop are not full merchants of record in the Paddle sense: read exactly which taxes each one takes responsibility for.
The best Lemon Squeezy alternatives in 2026 are Stripe Managed Payments if you are eligible and already on Stripe, Paddle for an established merchant of record for SaaS, Polar, Creem or Dodo Payments for lower published fees, FastSpring for larger software catalogues on quoted pricing, and Gumroad or Payhip for creator-style digital products. Whop fits community and membership businesses. Every fee below comes from the provider's own pricing page or documentation, checked 1 Nov 2026.
Disclosure: ZeroRaised is a launch directory, not a payment provider, and does not appear in this list. ZeroRaised has no affiliation with, sponsorship from or referral arrangement with any provider named here.
TL;DR#
- Lemon Squeezy itself still charges 5% + 50¢ per transaction, plus 1.5% for international, 1.5% for PayPal and 0.5% for subscription payments (pricing, fees, checked 1 Nov 2026).
- Stripe Managed Payments: 3.5% on top of standard Stripe fees, Stripe (via Onelink) is merchant of record, access depends on an eligibility review (source, checked 1 Nov 2026).
- Paddle: 5% + 50¢ per checkout transaction, full merchant of record, monthly payouts, no native licence keys on Paddle Billing.
- Polar: 5% + 50¢ free, dropping to 3.8% + 40¢ on a $20 a month plan, plus 1.5% for non-US cards. Built-in licence keys.
- Creem: 3.9% + 40¢, no international card fee stated, licence keys included.
- Dodo Payments: 4% + 40¢ for domestic US cards, +1.5% international, +0.5% subscriptions, licence keys included.
- FastSpring: quoted pricing only, built-in licence key fulfilment, long-standing software focus.
- Gumroad: 10% + 50¢ direct, 30% via Discover, merchant of record since 1 January 2025.
- Payhip: 0% to 5% platform fee by plan plus your own PayPal or Stripe fees; Payhip handles EU/UK digital VAT and US/Canadian sales tax.
- Whop: 2.7% + 30¢ processing on domestic cards; Whop is merchant of record on Whop Payments, and its tax service is an optional 2%.
What happened to Lemon Squeezy?#
Stripe acquired Lemon Squeezy on 26 July 2024, according to the announcement by CEO JR Farr, which also says Lemon Squeezy "has been processing payments on Stripe since our inception". In April 2025 the company said Stripe Managed Payments, "a new merchant of record experience, built directly into Stripe", would launch in private preview that summer, and told existing users "No changes or action needed" (April 2025 update).
The January 2026 update is more direct. It acknowledges "slower support responses and less frequent product updates", describes Managed Payments as "Stripe's merchant of record solution", and says: "Our goal is to provide Lemon Squeezy users an easy way to migrate to Stripe Managed Payments." It gives no migration deadline. On 1 Nov 2026 the Lemon Squeezy pricing page still carried a banner linking to that update, and its footer read "Sold through Link, LLC f/k/a Lemon Squeezy LLC" (pricing).
So nothing forces you to move today. The reasons founders search for alternatives are the slower product pace the company itself admits, and the uncertainty of building on a product whose owner is pointing users elsewhere. If you want the background on why a merchant of record matters at all, read merchant of record vs payment processor.
Lemon Squeezy alternatives compared#
"Not stated" means the cited page does not publish that detail. Fees are the base card rate; surcharges are listed in each section below.
| Provider | Base fee per sale | Legal seller | Subscriptions | Licence keys | Payouts | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lemon Squeezy (baseline) | 5% + 50¢ | Lemon Squeezy (MoR) | Yes (+0.5%) | Yes | Twice a month, bank or PayPal | Pricing, checked 1 Nov 2026 |
| Stripe Managed Payments | Stripe fees + 3.5% | Stripe via Onelink (MoR) | Yes, via Checkout or Payment Links | Not stated | Standard Stripe | Managed Payments, checked 1 Nov 2026 |
| Paddle | 5% + 50¢ | Paddle (MoR) | Yes | Not native on Billing | Monthly, $100 minimum | Pricing, checked 1 Nov 2026 |
| Polar | 5% + 50¢ (Starter) to 3.4% + 30¢ (Scale) | Polar (MoR) | Yes | Yes | Manual, $10 minimum | Pricing, checked 1 Nov 2026 |
| Creem | 3.9% + 40¢ | Creem (MoR) | Not stated on cited page | Yes | 1st and 15th | Pricing, checked 1 Nov 2026 |
| Dodo Payments | 4% + 40¢ (domestic US) | Dodo Payments (MoR) | Yes (+0.5%) | Yes | Twice a month, $100 default minimum | Pricing, checked 1 Nov 2026 |
| FastSpring | Quote only | FastSpring (MoR) | Yes | Yes | Twice a month by default | Pricing, checked 1 Nov 2026 |
| Gumroad | 10% + 50¢ (30% via Discover) | Gumroad (MoR) | Yes | Yes | Varies by country | Pricing, checked 1 Nov 2026 |
| Payhip | 5%, 2% or 0% by plan, plus gateway fees | You, with Payhip as reseller for EU/UK digital VAT | Yes | Yes | Immediate to your gateway | Pricing, checked 1 Nov 2026 |
| Whop | 2.7% + 30¢ processing (domestic cards) | Whop (MoR on Whop Payments) | Yes | Yes | Up to 5 business days | Fees, checked 1 Nov 2026 |
Stripe Managed Payments: the official successor#
Stripe says Managed Payments "adds 3.5% per successful transaction to your standard Stripe processing fees", covering "global indirect tax (sales, VAT, GST), fraud prevention, dispute responses and transaction-level support through Onelink" (source, checked 1 Nov 2026). Billing and local payment methods are charged separately. On UK pricing that base is 1.5% + 20p for standard UK cards and 3.15% + 20p for international cards, plus 2% if currency conversion is needed (Stripe pricing).
Customers see purchases as "Sold through Onelink", custom domains are not supported on Managed Payments checkouts, and Stripe "might issue a refund without your approval" if you do not answer a support request within 48 hours (how it works). Access depends on "an eligibility review that considers factors such as business type and geography", and the eligibility page lists 37 supported business locations, with India and Brazil absent (eligibility). Professional services and anything involving live human delivery do not qualify. Managed Payments also does not support Stripe Connect or subscriptions created outside Checkout and Payment Links (overview).
Best fit: existing Stripe users in a supported country selling SaaS or downloads who want the shortest migration path.
Paddle#
Paddle charges "5% + 50¢" per checkout transaction and says "Start selling globally with Paddle as your Merchant of Record" (pricing, checked 1 Nov 2026). The page lists no monthly fee and no separate international or subscription surcharge, and invites sellers of products under $10 to ask for bespoke pricing. Its billing product covers "dunning, proration, and upgrades or downgrades" (Paddle Billing).
Two details matter for indie software. First, Paddle's developer docs say Classic handled "Licence keys and product downloads", while Billing means "Build your own workflows using transaction webhooks", and anyone who signed up after 8 August 2023 is on Billing (developer docs). Second, payouts are monthly: Paddle sends payment "by the 15th" once your balance passes a threshold with a $100 minimum, by wire or Payoneer (payouts help). A $/€/£15 wire fee can apply to cross-currency SWIFT transfers (payout fees).
Paddle vs Lemon Squeezy: the headline rate is identical. On a non-US subscription sale, Lemon Squeezy's published surcharges add 2% (1.5% international plus 0.5% subscription), which Paddle's pricing page does not list. Paddle's trade-off is monthly payouts and no native licence keys.
Polar#
Polar has four plans: Starter at 5% + 50¢ with no monthly fee, Pro at $20 a month and 3.8% + 40¢, Growth at $100 a month and 3.6% + 35¢, and Scale at $400 a month and 3.4% + 30¢, with "+1.5% for international cards (non-US)" and no separate subscription fee on these plans (pricing, checked 1 Nov 2026). Disputes cost $15 each. Organisations created before 27 May 2026 keep an Early Member rate of 4% + 40¢ plus 0.5% on subscriptions.
Polar acts as "a reseller of your digital goods & services" for sales tax, while you remain responsible for income tax (MoR docs). Licence keys support brandable prefixes, activation limits and automatic revocation when a subscription ends (licence keys). Payouts are manual, with a $10 minimum and a 7-day settlement delay for newer organisations (payouts).
Funding note: Polar's company page lists Accel, Abstract and Mischief as venture backers (company).
Best fit: developer tools and open-source-adjacent SaaS that want an API-first checkout and licence keys.
Creem#
Creem charges "3.9%+40¢ per successful transaction" with $0 monthly and setup fees, and lists "No international card fees" (pricing, checked 1 Nov 2026). It describes itself as "the legal seller of record" collecting VAT, GST and sales tax in 190+ countries, and its docs list licence keys, affiliates and revenue splits (docs). Payouts run on the 1st and 15th of each month to a bank account or crypto wallet.
Funding note: Creem's about page says "Raised €7M" in a seed round led by Inovo VC (about).
Best fit: non-US-heavy SaaS where the absence of an international card surcharge changes the maths.
Dodo Payments#
Dodo Payments lists "4% + 40c per domestic US transaction", "+1.5%" for international payments and "+0.5%" for subscriptions and usage-based billing (pricing, checked 1 Nov 2026). Refunds cost $1 each and disputes $30. Its docs say Dodo is "the legal seller of your digital products" but also that "Chargebacks stay your responsibility with an MoR" (MoR docs). Licence keys come with activation limits and expiry (licence keys). Payouts default to twice a month with a $100 minimum, and payouts under $1,000 carry a $5 fee (payouts).
Funding note: Dodo's about page names investors including Antler, a16z and Lightspeed (about).
Best fit: sellers who want usage-based billing and licence keys in one place, especially from India, where Dodo publishes a separate rate.
FastSpring#
FastSpring publishes no fee: "Our pricing works on a revenue-sharing model and our fees vary depending on the transaction volume" (pricing, checked 1 Nov 2026). It says "We're your merchant of record" and lists VAT and sales tax remittance as included. Licence key fulfilment is built in, with generators including CocoaFob and custom scripts (licence keys). Payouts default to the 15th and end of month, with a $100 minimum, a 14-day settlement delay and a 45-day monitoring hold on new accounts (payouts).
Best fit: desktop and downloadable software with an existing licensing system and enough volume to negotiate.
Gumroad#
Gumroad charges "10% + $0.50" on sales through your profile or direct links and "30%" on Discover marketplace sales, with no monthly fee (pricing, checked 1 Nov 2026). It says "We're a Merchant of Record" and that "Since January 1, 2025, Gumroad handles ALL your tax obligations", meaning sales tax and VAT rather than your income tax. Memberships, subscriptions and generated licence keys are listed features (features). The pricing page says payout method "varies by country" and gives no official schedule.
Best fit: small digital products, templates and early experiments where simplicity beats fee rate.
Payhip#
Payhip's plans are Free with a 5% transaction fee, Plus at $29 a month with 2%, and Pro at $99 a month with no transaction fee; PayPal and Stripe still charge their standard rates on every plan (pricing, checked 1 Nov 2026). Payhip "automatically collects, reports and remits digital EU/UK VAT as well as US/Canadian sales tax", acting as "your reseller" for EU/UK digital VAT and a marketplace facilitator in the US (VAT page). Other taxes you configure are passed to you to pay. It never calls itself a merchant of record, so treat it as partial tax cover. Licence keys can be generated or uploaded and are disabled on refund (licence keys).
Best fit: higher-volume digital product sellers for whom a flat monthly fee beats a percentage.
Whop#
Whop's fees page lists "2.7% + $0.30 per successful transaction for domestic cards", "+ 1.5% for international cards" and a "Tax and remittance" fee of "2% per transaction (when enabled and tax is collected)" (fees, checked 1 Nov 2026). Its payout docs state "On Whop Payments, Whop is the Merchant of Record" (payouts), but tax collection is opt-in: "I'll handle tax myself" has no fee, and Whop warns that its managed options do not "by itself, remove your own tax obligations" (taxes). Licence keys require installing its Software app (SaaS docs). Next-day ACH payouts cost $2.50.
Best fit: paid communities, courses and memberships. For a pure SaaS wanting hands-off tax, compare the all-in cost with tax enabled.
How to choose a merchant of record for SaaS#
- Price your real sale, not the headline. Take your average price, share of non-US buyers, share of subscriptions and payout size, then apply each provider's surcharges. Our payment fees data page and Stripe vs PayPal fees help with the processing layer.
- Confirm who files the tax. A full merchant of record is the legal seller. Payhip and Whop cover narrower ground, so read their tax pages against where your customers live.
- Check licence keys before you migrate. If your desktop app validates keys, Paddle Billing means building that yourself.
- Check cash flow. Monthly payouts with a $100 minimum (Paddle) feel different from manual $10 withdrawals (Polar).
- Check eligibility first. Stripe Managed Payments and every MoR review your business; apply before you build the integration.
If pricing itself is unsettled, start with how to price a SaaS product, and for the wider distribution picture see how to sell software online.
Where ZeroRaised fits#
ZeroRaised is not a payment provider and earns nothing from any provider above. Once checkout works and someone can pay you, the next job is getting buyers to the page. ZeroRaised is a free launch directory for bootstrapped products: submit your product if it has never received institutional venture capital or accelerator equity (funding policy). Pair it with the launch sites list and the micro-SaaS launch guide.
Sources#
- Lemon Squeezy pricing
- Lemon Squeezy fees
- Stripe acquires Lemon Squeezy (July 2024)
- Lemon Squeezy update (April 2025)
- Lemon Squeezy 2026 update
- Stripe Managed Payments
- Stripe Managed Payments overview
- Stripe Managed Payments: how it works
- Stripe Managed Payments eligibility
- Stripe UK pricing
- Paddle pricing
- Paddle Billing
- Paddle developer docs
- Paddle: when and how do I get paid
- Paddle: payout fees
- Polar pricing
- Polar merchant of record
- Polar licence keys
- Polar payouts
- Polar company
- Creem pricing
- Creem docs
- Creem about
- Dodo Payments pricing
- Dodo Payments MoR docs
- Dodo Payments licence keys
- Dodo Payments payouts
- Dodo Payments about
- FastSpring pricing
- FastSpring licence keys
- FastSpring payouts
- Gumroad pricing
- Gumroad features
- Payhip pricing
- Payhip VAT and taxes
- Payhip licence keys
- Whop fees
- Whop taxes
- Whop payout methods
- Whop SaaS docs
Frequently asked questions
What is the best Lemon Squeezy alternative?
For a SaaS that wants a full merchant of record with subscriptions, compare Paddle, Polar, Creem and Dodo Payments. If you already run on Stripe and are eligible, Stripe Managed Payments is the closest successor. For digital downloads, Gumroad or Payhip may fit better.
Is Lemon Squeezy shutting down?
No shutdown date has been announced. Lemon Squeezy's pricing page was live on 1 Nov 2026, and its January 2026 update says the goal is to give users an easy way to migrate to Stripe Managed Payments, without stating a deadline.
Paddle vs Lemon Squeezy, which is cheaper?
Both list 5% + 50¢ per checkout transaction. Lemon Squeezy adds published surcharges for international, PayPal and subscription payments, while Paddle's pricing page lists no such surcharges and offers bespoke pricing for products under $10.
What is the cheapest merchant of record for SaaS?
On headline rates checked on 1 Nov 2026, Polar's paid plans (from 3.8% + 40¢ at $20 a month) and Creem (3.9% + 40¢) are the lowest published. Calculate with your own mix of international cards, subscriptions and payout sizes before deciding.
Is Gumroad a merchant of record?
Yes. Gumroad's pricing page says it is a merchant of record and has handled sellers' tax obligations since 1 January 2025. It charges 10% + 50¢ on direct sales and 30% on Discover marketplace sales.