This page lists the free plans of 10 authentication and login services that indie developers often use. For each one we show the free monthly user limit, whether social logins, multi-factor authentication (MFA) and a custom domain are on the free plan, and the overage or next paid plan price as the vendor shows it. Every figure comes from the vendor's own pricing or docs pages, which are linked in each row. Vendors count users in different ways (Clerk counts monthly retained users, Stytch counts users and AI agents), and the table keeps each vendor's own unit. Figures were last checked on 22 October 2026. Free plans change often, so check the linked page before you decide.
Last checked
All figures are from the vendors' US English pricing and docs pages.
Published free plan limits for auth and login services, from each vendor's own pages
Vendor
Free monthly user limit
Social logins on free
MFA on free
Custom domain on free
Overage or next tier price (as shown)
Notes
Source URLs
Checked (22 Oct 2026)
Clerk
50,000 MRU limit per app (monthly retained users, not MAU)
Yes: Up to 3 social connections
No: Not included (Hobby column)
Yes: "Custom domain" listed in Hobby
Pro $25/mo, $20/mo billed annually; 50,001 - 100,000 $0.02/mo each
Hobby plan: "No credit card required". "A user is counted as retained when they return 24+ hours after signing up." "Remove Clerk branding" is not included on Hobby.
Essentials $ 35 / month (price shown for "Up to 500 monthly active users", the page's default slider setting)
"No credit card needed to sign up." MFA: the comparison table marks "Pro MFA Factors" "Not included" on Free and has no other MFA row for Free; docs say "Available factors are dependent on your subscription plan." Figures from the B2C view; prices for other MAU levels are set by a JavaScript slider.
Yes: "popular federated identity providers like Google, Facebook and Twitter, and more"
Only with the Identity Platform upgrade: "Multi-factor authentication Yes No" (Identity Platform, Firebase Authentication); the upgrade "is available without a billing instrument up to daily limits"
not stated
Blaze: "No-cost up to 50K MAUs Then Google Cloud pricing"; Identity Platform: "50,000 count to 100,000 count $0.0055 / 1 count, per 1 month / account"
Spark plan: "No payment method needed". With Identity Platform on Spark: "Tier 1 Daily Active Users 3000 per day". Phone auth "Billed per SMS sent". A MAU limit for Firebase Authentication without Identity Platform is not stated on the pricing page.
Up to 1 million users Free ("free for up to 1 million monthly active users")
Yes: Social Auth ("Available for all accounts")
Yes: Multi-Factor Auth (MFA) with TOTP and SMS ("Available for all accounts")
Paid add-on: Custom Domain $99 / mo
Per additional 1M users $2,500 / mo
"you don't need to add a credit card until you are ready to move to production." SSO and Directory Sync are priced per connection ($125 / ea for 1-15).
Yes: "OAuth" listed in the free plan's features (docs: identity providers "like Google, Apple, and GitHub")
Yes: "Per organization MFA controls" (B2B view); "No feature gating"
not stated
not stated (table: "10,000 included Volume discounts"); FAQ example: "either $0.00 or $0.05 after your plan's free MAU allotment"
"Our pricing does not include any hard caps or pricing cliffs." 5 SSO or SCIM connections free, then $125/connection. Brand removal add-on ($ 99 ). The static page shows the B2B plan text; the Consumer view is rendered by JavaScript.
Pro $25 USD per month; $0.0175 per extra MAU ($0 for billed users)
"$0 forever", "No credit card required". Pro adds "Uncapped MAU" and "Remove Kinde branding". "Users on paid subscriptions are not counted" as MAU. Billing through Kinde: "0.7% per transaction" on Free.
10,000 monthly active user (MAU) per month per account or per AWS organization (Lite or Essentials tier)
Yes: free tier covers users who sign in "through a social identity provider"; social sign-in in "Lite + Essentials + Plus"
Yes: "MFA with authenticator apps and SMS one-time codes" in "Lite + Essentials + Plus" (email MFA: "Essentials + Plus"; SMS priced separately)
not stated
Essentials example: "Price / MAU charged above the free tier = $0.015" (per-MAU table rendered by JavaScript)
Free tier "does not automatically expire"; "There is no free tier for the Plus tier." SAML/OIDC federated users: free tier of 50 MAUs. Custom domain docs page checked; no plan or price rule found.
Region: US. Figures are the published free-plan limits on each vendor's own English (US) pricing and docs pages in USD on 22 Oct 2026.
"not stated" means the vendor's pages that were checked did not state the value. It does not mean "included" or "not included".
"Yes" or "No" is used only where the vendor's page marks the feature for the free plan; the vendor's own wording follows it.
User units differ by vendor and are not converted: Clerk counts monthly retained users ("A user is counted as retained when they return 24+ hours after signing up."), Stytch counts "monthly active users and AI agents", WorkOS says "Up to 1 million users" on the price card and "1 million monthly active users" in its FAQ, Kinde does not count "Users on paid subscriptions". Clerk's limit is "per app"; Cognito's is "per account or per AWS organization".
Firebase Authentication: the 50K MAU figure is shown "With Identity Platform". On the no-cost Spark plan, Identity Platform has a cap per day on active users ("3000 per day" at Tier 1). MFA needs the Identity Platform upgrade. A MAU limit for Firebase Authentication without Identity Platform is not stated on the pricing page.
Auth0: the Essentials price shown ("$ 35 / month") is for the page's default "Up to 500 monthly active users" slider setting; other levels are rendered by JavaScript. MFA on Free reads "not stated": the comparison table marks "Pro MFA Factors" "Not included" on Free and has no other MFA row for Free.
Stytch: the static page shows the B2B plan text. The overage cell reads "not stated" because the table shows only "Volume discounts" for extra users; an FAQ example mentions a base MAU rate of "either $0.00 or $0.05".
Amazon Cognito: the per-MAU price table is rendered by JavaScript, so the overage cell quotes the page's worked example for Essentials ("$0.015"). The free tier applies to the Lite and Essentials tiers only.
Paid add-ons rather than free features: WorkOS custom domain ("$99 / mo"), Logto MFA ("$48 All factors"). Descope lists Custom Domain under Pro ("Everything in Free Forever, plus:").
Descope and Logto describe hard limits on Free: Descope "No overages. Upgrade required to exceed limits."; Logto Free is "Up to 50,000 MAU" while Pro is "Unlimited MAU".
Sources: only each vendor's own pricing and docs pages. No third-party sites.
Region: US English pages and USD prices, standard self-serve free plans.
Figures are quoted as the vendor writes them, including the vendor's own user unit (MAU, MRU, users). We did not convert, total or estimate any figure.
Where a value was not stated on the vendor's pages, the cell reads "not stated". This does not mean "included" or "not included".
"Yes" or "No" appears only where the vendor's page marks the feature for the free plan; the vendor's wording follows it.