How to Monetize an MCP Server: Pricing, Payments and Listings

MCP has no built-in billing, so a paid server charges through an account, a key and a payment provider you choose. The models that work, what each provider and directory costs, and the rules that decide where you can list.

Editorial title card reading "How to Monetize an MCP Server: Pricing, Payments and Listings" beside the orange ZeroRaised mark.

Key takeaways

  • MCP itself has no payment layer. You charge for the service behind the server and gate it with an API key or OAuth, which the MCP specification makes optional but standardises for HTTP servers.
  • Usage pricing with a free allowance suits most paid MCP servers, because every tool call costs you something to serve. Stripe, Polar and others meter usage; check the fixed fee per payment before you sell small top-ups.
  • Agent payments over HTTP 402 exist but are early: Cloudflare's Monetization Gateway is in closed beta and settles in USDC. Marketplaces such as Apify handle billing for a 20% commission.
  • Listing costs vary: the official MCP Registry is free and in preview, MCP.so charges a $39 one-time fee, and Zapier charges nothing to publish an integration (checked 21 Oct 2026).
  • Read the directory rules before you build the paid part. Slack lists an app that only provides an MCP server among those unsuitable, and Anthropic's directory policy excludes software that moves money for users.
On this page 19
  1. TL;DR
  2. What happened: a Show HN priced per 1,000 calls, 16 October 2026
  3. How to monetize an MCP server: decide who pays first
  4. Free servers can still earn
  5. What to charge for
  6. Gating access: API keys or OAuth
  7. Payment providers and fees for a paid MCP server
  8. Agent payments and marketplaces: billing you do not run yourself
  9. Per-request payments over HTTP 402
  10. Marketplaces that bill for you
  11. Selling inside AI clients
  12. Where to list a paid MCP server, and what each place costs
  13. The MCP Registry: free, and the place aggregators read
  14. MCP.so: a paid listing
  15. Claude's directory: paid plans allowed, money movement not
  16. Zapier: reach agents without listing an MCP server
  17. Slack: build a Slack app, not just a connector
  18. Before you charge for an MCP server: a checklist
  19. Where ZeroRaised fits once your paid tier is live

How to monetize an MCP server, in short: run it as a remote server, require an API key or an OAuth sign-in, and charge the account behind that key through a payment provider, usually with a free allowance and usage pricing on top. The protocol will not take payment for you. The MCP authorization spec says authorization "is OPTIONAL for MCP implementations", so the real decisions are who pays, how you meter use, which provider handles the money and which directories will list a paid server.

Disclosure: ZeroRaised publishes this guide and appears in the final section. Rules, fees and plans come from the MCP project's docs and each vendor's own pages as checked on 21 Oct 2026. Prices change, so check the live page before you rely on one. ZeroRaised has no affiliate deal with any provider, directory or server named here, and this guide makes no promise of users, sales or revenue.

TL;DR#

Paid MCP servers are still new, and most of the money is in the service behind the server rather than in the protocol. One recent example shows the usual shape: on 16 October 2026 a maker posted a Show HN for Things to Do API, a REST and MCP data service with a free tier and per-call pricing.

ModelWho paysHow you gate itFits when
Free allowance plus usage pricingThe developer or company whose agent calls your toolsAPI key or OAuth, metered per callEach call costs you money to serve: data, search, AI inference
Flat subscriptionA user or teamOAuth sign-in tied to a planThe server is a front door to a SaaS you already sell
Prepaid creditsDevelopers testing many toolsAPI key with a balanceUsage is spiky and you want cash before the cost
Per-request agent payment over HTTP 402 (Cloudflare)The agent's walletPayment in the requestYou want agents with no account to pay; still a closed beta
Marketplace listing with revenue share (Apify)The marketplace's usersThe marketplace's accountsYou would rather not run billing at all
Free server as a channelNobody, directlyNone, or your product's existing loginThe MCP server sells your main product

If you are unsure, start with the first row. It is what the hook example does, and it fits how agents use tools.

What happened: a Show HN priced per 1,000 calls, 16 October 2026#

The Hacker News post Show HN: Things to Do API went up late on 16 October 2026 (UTC), according to the item's timestamp in the Hacker News API (the page showed "4 days ago" when checked on 21 Oct 2026). The maker, posting as invalidmonk, wrote: "I built an api/mcp for local events: pop-ups, one-off events, concerts, etc. currently covering the SF bay area." The post had 57 points and 32 comments at that check.

The product page is a clear example of how a small paid MCP server can be priced:

  • Two front doors. The same service answers REST calls and has an MCP endpoint, added to a client with a single claude mcp add command (product page).
  • Free tier: $0 for 1,000 calls a month at 60 calls a minute (product page).
  • Pay as you go: $5 per 1,000 calls, with the first 1,000 a month free, dropping to $3 per 1,000 after 100,000 and $2 per 1,000 after 1 million, at 300 calls a minute (product page).
  • Enterprise: custom pricing for every city, bulk access and an SLA.
  • Try before signing up: 50 queries a day without a key (product page).

In the thread, the maker explained the value in terms of cost to the buyer's agent: "Do you want to pay for an expensive tool call and several second response time to surface answers back to the user?" That is the core argument for any paid MCP server. You are selling a faster, cheaper or more reliable answer than the agent could get on its own.

This is one small launch, not proof that the model works for every server. It is useful because every pricing decision is visible on one page.

How to monetize an MCP server: decide who pays first#

The MCP introduction calls the protocol "an open-source standard for connecting AI applications to external systems." An MCP server is a way in to something. What people pay for is that something: data you collected, an action you perform, a model you run, or a product they already use.

So the first question is not the price. It is who the buyer is.

  • A developer building an agent or app. They compare you with doing the work themselves, as the Things to Do API maker argued. They want a free allowance to test, clear limits, and a bill that grows with use. This is the most common buyer for a paid MCP server.
  • A team using an AI client at work. They connect your server in Claude, ChatGPT or Slack and expect a sign-in, per-seat or per-team billing, and an admin who approves it. Here the server is usually a feature of a SaaS plan, not a product of its own.
  • An agent with no human account. This buyer is the reason for HTTP 402 payments, covered below. It is real but early.

Once you know the buyer, the model mostly picks itself. Usage pricing suits developers, subscriptions suit teams, and agent payments suit traffic you cannot sign up in advance.

Free servers can still earn#

Not every MCP server should charge. If you already sell a product, a free server that lets an AI client read from it or act in it can be the best sales channel you have. The paid part is the account the user already has. The how to market an API guide covers when an MCP route helps a product and when it is a distraction, and how to launch an AI app covers testing an AI product before charging for it.

What to charge for#

Charge for the thing that costs you money or saves the buyer money. For most servers that is one of:

  1. Calls to a costly backend, such as a paid data source, a search index or model inference.
  2. Writes and actions, such as sending, booking or updating something, which carry more risk and support work than reads.
  3. Freshness or coverage, such as more regions, more history or faster updates, which is how Things to Do API splits its enterprise tier (product page).

Avoid charging per tool for tools that are cheap to serve. Agents often call several tools to answer one question, and a bill that counts every lookup feels unfair to the buyer and is hard for them to predict.

Gating access: API keys or OAuth#

You cannot bill a server anyone can call anonymously, so every paid model starts with knowing who is calling. MCP gives you two common routes.

OAuth, as the spec describes it. The authorization spec says implementations using an HTTP-based transport "SHOULD conform to this specification" and that a protected MCP server "acts as an OAuth 2.1 resource server". It also says "MCP servers MUST implement OAuth 2.0 Protected Resource Metadata" (RFC9728), which lets a client discover where to send the user to sign in. Local servers over STDIO should not follow it; they get credentials from the environment instead.

An API key. Simpler, and common for developer-facing servers: the user pastes a key into their client's config, and your server checks it on every request. Many data APIs already work this way.

ApproachBest forWhat the buyer seesWhat you build
OAuth 2.1 sign-in (spec)Team and consumer use inside Claude, ChatGPT or SlackA sign-in screen when they connectAn authorization server, or a hosted identity provider, plus protected resource metadata
API key in configDevelopers wiring your server into their own agentA key on your dashboardKey issuing, rotation and per-key metering
BothServers with both audiencesTheir choiceBoth, mapped to one account and one bill

Directories lean towards OAuth. Anthropic's submission guide asks for "OAuth 2.0 if your tools act on a user's account, or no authentication for public data", and Slack's MCP distribution guide asks you to make sure "user authentication works as expected end-to-end". If you want listings in AI clients, plan on OAuth even if you start with keys.

Whichever you choose, put the limits where the account is. Rate limits per key, a hard cap the buyer can set, and a clear error when the allowance runs out stop a runaway agent from turning into a surprise invoice. Things to Do API shows both sides on its pricing card: 60 calls a minute on the free tier, 300 on pay as you go, and "No cap unless you set one" (product page).

Payment providers and fees for a paid MCP server#

Once calls are tied to accounts, you need something to meter usage, take payment and handle tax. The choice is the same one any small software seller makes, with one twist: usage pricing means many small or variable charges.

ProviderMerchant of record?Headline fee (checked 21 Oct 2026)Usage billing
Stripe Payments, UKNo1.5% + 20p standard UK cards; 2.5% + 20p EU cards; 3.15% + 20p international cardsThrough Stripe Billing, at 0.7% of Billing volume on pay as you go (Billing pricing)
PolarYesStarter: free, 5% + 50¢. Pro: $20 /mo, 3.8% + 40¢; +1.5% for international cards (non-US)Events and meters (usage billing docs), labelled a new feature
PaddleYes5% + 50¢ per Checkout transactionNot covered on the pricing page

Three things matter more for an MCP server than for a normal SaaS.

The fixed fee hurts small charges. A fee such as 50¢ or 20p per payment is a small share of a large invoice and a large share of a small top-up. If you sell credits, sell them in amounts big enough that the fixed part stops mattering, or bill usage monthly in arrears so there is one payment, not twenty. Our dataset of percentage and fixed fees puts both parts side by side for nine providers, as listed for US sellers.

Stripe stacks two fees for subscriptions and metered plans. Stripe Payments takes its card fee, and Stripe Billing adds "0.7% of Billing volume" on the pay-as-you-go plan (Billing pricing). A merchant of record charges more per sale but takes on the tax work: Polar's pricing page describes merchant of record as coming with "international tax compliance, fraud and dispute prevention, and global coverage", and Paddle's pricing page lists "Global tax and regulatory compliance".

Cross-border cards cost more. A developer paying with a company card in another country is a cross-border sale. Polar adds 1.5% for non-US cards (pricing), and Stripe UK charges more for EU and international cards than for UK ones (pricing).

To see what you keep at your own price, use our payment fee calculator. It compares the list fees of Stripe, PayPal, Lemon Squeezy, Paddle and Polar for a sale you enter, by where your account is, where the buyer's card is from and whether the sale is a subscription. Try your smallest top-up and your typical monthly bill, since those are the two ends of a usage plan.

For setting the numbers themselves, how to price a SaaS product covers choosing the price for a bootstrapped product, and how to sell software online compares processors with merchants of record in more depth.

Agent payments and marketplaces: billing you do not run yourself#

Two newer routes take billing off your hands, each with a cost.

Per-request payments over HTTP 402#

Cloudflare's post Monetization Gateway beta, dated September 30, 2026, describes a gateway that "allows domain owners to charge agents for access to their website, APIs, MCP tools, or datasets." It uses "the HTTP 402 Payment Required status code so buyers can offer payment for a resource over HTTP, inline with the request for the resource itself", with no redirect to a checkout. Settlement goes through Coinbase's x402 Facilitator, and "Payments settle on the Base blockchain using USDC, a stablecoin pegged to the U.S. dollar."

Two limits for a solo maker. It is a closed beta that you request access to in the Cloudflare dashboard. And your buyers need an agent with a wallet that can pay this way, which most of today's MCP users do not have. Watch it, and keep account billing as the main route for now.

Marketplaces that bill for you#

A marketplace runs the accounts and payments and takes a share. Apify is the clearest example with published terms. Its monetisation docs offer pay-per-event pricing, where users pay for events your code triggers, and state: "Apify keeps 20% of your Actor's revenue as a commission." For pay-per-event Actors, Apify also deducts platform usage costs from your payout, so price above your own running cost. The same page describes agentic payments, letting agents pay over x402 or MPP for Actors that meet its requirements.

Selling inside AI clients#

The large AI clients do not sell your digital service for you yet. OpenAI's plugin checkout reference says "the recommended and generally available approach is to use external checkout", and that "current approval is limited to plugins for physical goods purchases." Anthropic's directory policy does not allow software that "transfers money, cryptocurrency, or other financial assets, or executes financial transactions on behalf of users", or software that "serves advertisements". In practice the user pays you on your own site, and the server checks their account.

RouteWho runs billingWhat it costs youStatus
Your own account billingYou, with Stripe, Polar or PaddleThe provider's feeWorks today
HTTP 402 via Cloudflare (blog)Cloudflare and the x402 FacilitatorNot stated in the beta postClosed beta; USDC on Base
Apify Store (docs)Apify20% commission, plus platform usage on pay-per-eventWorks today
Checkout inside ChatGPT (OpenAI)OpenAI payment sheet, select partnersNot statedBeta for select marketplace partners; plugin approval limited to physical goods

Where to list a paid MCP server, and what each place costs#

A paid server needs to be found by people who will sign up. These are the main places, with what each charges and what it asks of a paid product.

DirectoryCost to listAccepts a paid or closed-source server?What to know
Official MCP Registry (about)No fee statedYes, open-source and closed-sourceIn preview; no private servers; metadata only
MCP.so (submit page)$39 one-time publishing feeThe form requires a repository URLPublishes without review on the paid route
Claude Connectors Directory (submission guide)No fee stated; the submitter needs a paid Claude planYes; the form asks what accounts or plans users needRemote HTTPS servers only; OAuth 2.0 for user accounts; reviewer test account
Zapier app directory (publishing guide)Free to publishYes; users pay you and pay Zapier separatelyA Zapier integration, not an MCP server; reply within 1 week, then 90 days in beta
Slack Marketplace (MCP guide)No fee in the flowYes, through a Slack appExtra review for MCP apps; MCP-only apps listed as unsuitable

The MCP Registry: free, and the place aggregators read#

The registry docs say it "is currently in preview" and that "Breaking changes or data resets may occur before general availability." It supports open-source and closed-source servers, as long as the install method is public or the server is publicly reachable, but "does not support private servers." It stores metadata, not code, and is meant to be read by downstream aggregators such as marketplaces. For a paid remote server, publish its metadata here first.

MCP.so: a paid listing#

MCP.so charges a "$39 one-time publishing fee" on its submit page, which also promises a verified badge, featured placement and a dofollow project link. Our MCP.so page covers the submission steps and the mixed statements it makes about review. Pay only once your pricing page is live, so the people who click through can sign up.

Claude's directory: paid plans allowed, money movement not#

Anthropic's submission guide asks for "credentials for a fully populated account" for reviewers, and for "what users need before they can connect, such as accounts, plans, or other setup." That second question is how a paid connector declares itself. Give reviewers a paid-tier test account, not a free one, so they can run every tool. The directory policy quoted above rules out tools that execute financial transactions on behalf of users, so keep payment out of the tools themselves.

Zapier: reach agents without listing an MCP server#

Zapier runs its own MCP server. The Zapier MCP page says an agent "searches Zapier's 9,000+ apps and 66,000+ triggers and actions to find the right tools for the job." If your paid product has an API, a public Zapier integration puts its actions in that list. Zapier's publishing guide says "There are no fees for publishing an integration" and that users "are responsible for their own Zapier plans and billing", so your own pricing stays yours. The publishing requirements ask for an app that has been "fully launched to the public", not an invite-only or beta app, and a valid test account. Our Zapier App Directory page covers the review steps and the 90 day beta.

Slack: build a Slack app, not just a connector#

Slack's Marketplace guidelines list apps that "provide only an MCP server without meaningful in-Slack functionality" among those unsuitable for listing. Slack also has a route for apps that connect an MCP server to the Slackbot MCP client. Its MCP distribution guide adds checks on top of normal review, including the mcp:connect scope, a valid HTTPS URL on a domain you control and a readOnlyHint on every tool. Read both before you start, and plan for Slack's review timeline: at least 10 active workspaces before you can submit, and a functional review of up to 10 weeks for new apps. Our Slack Marketplace page has the submission steps, and how to publish a Slack app covers the build.

Before you charge for an MCP server: a checklist#

  1. Know your cost per call. Work out what one typical tool call costs you to serve, then set the free allowance and paid rate from it. Without that number every price is a guess.
  2. Run it remote, over HTTPS. Account billing, OAuth and most directories assume a hosted server. Claude's directory takes only servers that are "remote and reachable over HTTPS" (submission guide).
  3. Gate every paid tool. Use OAuth for team and consumer clients and API keys for developers, and tie both to one account and one bill.
  4. Meter in one place. Count usage on your server, send it to your billing tool, and show the buyer the same number you bill.
  5. Give buyers a ceiling. Per-key rate limits and a spending cap the buyer controls protect them from a runaway agent and you from a disputed charge.
  6. Write tool descriptions for the agent. Slack's MCP guide says Slackbot uses titles and descriptions "to reason about when and how to invoke your tools", and vague ones are grounds for rejection. Good descriptions also mean fewer wasted, billable calls.
  7. Mark reads and writes. Claude's directory and Slack both ask for annotations such as readOnlyHint on every tool (submission guide). Buyers also want to know which calls can change their data.
  8. Publish a pricing page an agent can read. Plain text prices, limits and what happens at the limit, like the single pricing card on the Things to Do API page, help both human buyers and the agents they ask.
  9. Prepare a paid test account for reviewers. Directories review the experience a paying user gets.
  10. List in the free places first, then pay for a listing once sign-up and checkout work end to end.

Where ZeroRaised fits once your paid tier is live#

An MCP directory listing reaches people already browsing for tools. It does not tell the wider maker community that your product exists or what it costs.

ZeroRaised is a free launch site for bootstrapped makers whose products have no institutional VC or accelerator equity. If your server, or the product behind it, is live with a free allowance and a public pricing page, you can submit it for review. The maker perks page lists separate offers for eligible makers, and the launch sites directory lists other places to list by audience. None of them replaces a server that answers well and a bill buyers can predict.

So, how to monetize an MCP server in one line: sell the service behind it, gate it with an account, price by the call with a free allowance, pick a payment provider whose fees suit small charges, and list it where buyers already look.

Frequently asked questions

Can you charge money for an MCP server?

Yes. Nothing in the protocol stops you, but it has no billing of its own. Most paid servers are remote servers that require an API key or an OAuth sign-in tied to an account, and the account holds a subscription, prepaid credits or a usage plan billed through a payment provider.

What is the best pricing model for an MCP server?

For most indie servers it is a free allowance plus usage pricing, because each tool call has a real cost to serve. Things to Do API, posted as a Show HN in October 2026, gives 1,000 free calls a month and then charges per 1,000 calls with volume discounts. A flat subscription suits servers whose cost per call is small and predictable.

How do AI agents pay for MCP tools?

Today, usually through an account a human set up and paid for. Per-request agent payments use the HTTP 402 status code: Cloudflare's Monetization Gateway, in closed beta, lets domain owners charge agents for MCP tools and settles in USDC on the Base blockchain. Marketplaces such as Apify also support agentic payments for some of their paid tools.

Where can I list a paid MCP server?

The official MCP Registry accepts open-source and closed-source servers as long as the server or its install method is publicly available, and it is free. MCP.so charges a one-time $39 publishing fee. Anthropic's Connectors Directory reviews remote servers and asks what accounts or plans users need before they connect, so a paid plan is not a barrier in itself.

Does it cost anything to put an MCP server in a directory?

It depends on the directory. The MCP Registry and Zapier's Developer Platform charge nothing to publish, MCP.so charges $39 once, and Anthropic's directory needs the submitter to be on a paid Claude plan. Slack's Marketplace has no fee but a long review and a minimum of 10 active workspaces.